wings

I’ve been thinking a lot about healing this week.

It’s been a hard week.  a heavy week.  but somehow I pray a healing week.

I just offered healing prayers during the noon service.  

And so i found myself thinking once again about healing.

Hawley reminded me this past weekend of the difference between healing and curing.

All to often I think when we pray for healing, we are actually only praying for curing.

I remember the doctor saying to mum, my brother and I that cure wasn’t possible now for the cancer had recurred and metastasized.    What we shoot for, he said, is as much life as possible.   Today I wonder if the sickness of her body was as such that the only way this side of heaven that God could heal her was through death.  

As much life as possible.   That’s healing, I think.   Life lived as fully and as wholly as is earthly and humanly possible.   Body, heart, soul, mind and spirit knitted back together into one being and into relationship with the One who made us, who redeems us, who restores us, who loves us and who heals us.

And the son of Righteousness will rise with healing in his wings
– Malachai the prophet.

O Lord that we would have the grace and the strength and the faith to touch those wings for ourselves and for those whom we love.   Give us the faith to want to heal with or without the cure.