fractured.

I heard something this morning that I’m still thinking about.

I wasn’t particularly a fan of its context but the notion, profound – at least I think.

It’s only after we’re broken – after we’re fractured – that we can receive the blessing.

It almost implies that being broken – being fractured even – is almost necessary.  
The necessary posture? The necessary offering? The necessary opening of the gate between God and man; between Heaven and Earth.  

I don’t want to assume that God’s blessing, God’s healing, God’s presence requires an open gate but I would imagine it sure makes it easier and forthright.   

This seems to be something I’ve known for a while or in theory before this morning.   But I heard it differently.    The word fractured ringing.   

The re-breaking of the bone for it to heal right.
The divisions in the church, the divides in the church – church in the broadest sense of the world.
The life from underwhich the rug has been yanked.
The state of limbo in times of transitions and weighty decisions. 
The separation that comes through death.

Fractures,  that leave us waiting for Redemption.  Resurrection.  Blessing.  Grace, even. 

You know I’m still thinking about Batman.  One of my kids this morning used the word “disturbing” to describe it.   I think that’s a good word for it –  It’s disturbing because it really does present how fractured – how broken this world is.   And even how right now we live in a time in history that is about breaking down, fracturing, deconstructing the way the world has been – or at least the way we would have liked to believe the world to be.  

Fractured, we are.  
Pray for blessing, I now do.