walking on water

Years ago I read Madeliene L’Engles profound words that pointed to the truththat  if indeed we were made in the image of God, then we were made to walk on water:  if that’s the case then what’s our problem?  we’ve forgotten how.   

Today I tried to remember.  

Though the water was in some places maybe 7 feet deep, I admit it was frozen water, otherwise known as “snow.”   But
off we traped along the frozen and snow covered creek in brilliantly designed snow shoes. 

alaska-day-2-022

Well I’m highly confident that the Maker got a good smile and if I’m honest – probably quite a chuckle as well at my attempts to walk on water today – forget the water, the snow shoes alone must have provided serious amusement. 

On trails already blazed, I could follow along with enough concentration.   But on snow that was not already packed down, I was quite a trip, literally at times given how I’d get a little cross-toed and trip over my own snow shoes I did do a time or to.   

Not so sure that my “walking on water” skills improved or  that I actually remembered what I must have forgotten long ago, but snow shoe-ing is doable as long as I’m on the path and following the way laid before me.  

so perhaps today wasn’t so much about walking on water after all but about walking through life, especially when you’re up a creek.