learning to fly

cockpit-small

Kyle now has his pilot’s license.   So we went flying yesterday — we’re going again in the morning.   
Before I left for the last frontier, a friend called to ask me about my upcoming adventures in Alaska.  I mentioned that Kyle was going to take me flying and my friend’s response: you know those little planes are not really that safe.   

Probably not the most helpful thing to say to me?   Kyle flies little planes right now and we all know that little planes seem to crash more often than big ones (or at least that’s what I have decided from my  warped view of the news).   So to have my fears voiced outloud … ummmmm  not so helpful for Sally who is geuinely trying to learn to fly (in more than just a plane).  

I think I’ve spent most of my life not doing things because of fear:   fear of not being good enough, fear of failing, fear of loving, fear of loosing, fear of succeeding, fear of dying and quite possibly even fear of living.    So all comments aside- all fear aside – I was going to fly with Kyle.

Riding in the back of the car to the airport, I was a little nervous.  
Sitting in the cockpit waiting for Kyle to finish the check points, I was nervous.  
Moving down the runway, I held tightly to the handle strap above me (as if that would save me?)
Holding my breath, we were up ….  and I couldn’t help but grin, I was flying.  

I have flown in planes – big planes, big distances – since I was 5 years old but yet until yesterday it never felt like I was flying.    And the craziest thing,  I wasn’t afraid.  

I wasn’t afraid because I trusted the pilot.   You see Kyle is one of the most meticulous and careful and precise people I’ve ever met.   He knew exactly what he was doing.   I could tell he knew exactly what he was doing.  He knew exactly what every little button, switch, gauge, light, number, letter, dial and arrow meant.    As Christy said before we took off, if Kyle doesn’t look worried, it’s totally normal whatever it is.    

runwaysmall

I wasn’t afraid becasue I trusted the pilot.   I wasn’t afraid because I knew the pilot.   I got to fly because I wasn’t afraid.   I enjoyed the journey because I wasn’t afraid.  

So maybe the secret of banishing fear is simply trusting more?  

I know my pilot through this world.   I’d like to think I know Him like I know Kyle — actually I’ve known Him longer.   
Guess then, I’m not only learning to fly but  learning to trust…

small-plane